Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and Law

Where the world discovers multidisciplinary cyber forensics

This peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and Law (JDFSL) focuses on the advancement of the field by publishing the state of the art in both basic and applied research conducted worldwide. We purposefully chose to use the word cyber in our tagline, instead of digital to emphasize the cyber culture surrounding computing, and the word cyber also extends itself beyond the technical domain of computing. The Journal’s main aims are to open up the landscape for innovation and discussion, and to continuously bridge the gap between the science and practice of cyber forensics, security and law. This journal encourages both scientists and practitioners to share their discoveries and experiences. 
The JDFSL is currently indexed, listed and/or members in/of the following:




Associate Editor-in-Chief

Ibrahim Baggili, PhD, Research Scholar
University of New Haven
Connecticut, USA


Linda K. Lau, PhD
Longwood University
Virginia, USA


Editorial Board Members


Frank Adelstein, PhD
Cayuga Networks
New York, USA

Pavel Gladyshev, PhD
University College Dublin

Vassil Roussev, PhD
University of New Orleans
Louisiana, USA

John W. Bagby, JD
The Pennsylvania State University
Pennsylvania, USA

Sanjay Goel 
University at Albany
State University of New York
New York, USA

Neil Rowe, PhD
U.S. Naval Postgraduate School
California, USA

Diane Barrett, PhD, CISSP
Bloomsburg University

Gregg Gunsch, PhD, PE, CISSP
Defiance College
Ohio, USA

Mark Scanlon, PhD
University College Dublin
Dublin, Ireland

David P. Biros, PhD
Oklahoma State University
Oklahoma, USA

Joshua James, PhD
Soonchunhyang University
South Korea

Kathryn C. Seigfried-Spellar, PhD
The University of Alabama
Alabama, USA

Raymond Choo, PhD
University of South Australia
South Australia, Australia

 Andy Jones, PhD
University of South Wales

Il-Yeol Song, PhD, Professor, ACM Distinguished Scientist
Drexel University
Pennsylvania, USA

  Frank Breitinger, PhD
University of New Haven
Connecticut, USA

Erin Kenneally, MFS, JD
Elchemy, Inc.
University of California San Diego
California, USA

Bernd Carsten Stahl, PhD
De Montfort University
Leicester, UK

Kam Pui (KP) Chow, PhD
University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China

Gary C. Kessler, PhD, CCE, CISSP
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Florida, USA

Craig Valli, DIT
Edith Cowan University
Western Australia, Australia

Fred Cohen, PhD, CEO, Director
Management Analytics
Pebble Beach, CA

Jigang Liu, PhD
Metropolitan State University
Minnesota, USA

Timothy Vidas
Carnegie Mellon University
Pennsylvania, USA

Philip Craiger, PhD, CISSP, CCFP
Daytona State College
Florida, USA

Michael M. Losavio, JD
University of Louisville
Kentucky, USA

Eli Weintraub, PhD, CISA
Afeka Tel Aviv Academic College of

David Dampier, PhD
Mississippi State University
Mississippi, USA

Andrew Marrington, PhD
Zayed University

Nigel Wilson
The University of Adelaide
South Australia, Australia

Glenn S. Dardick, PhD, CCE, CCFP
Virginia, USA

Martin Oliver, PhD, CCFP
University of Pretoria
South Africa


Denis Edgar-Neville, PhD
Canterbury Christ Church University
Canterbury, UK

Richard Overill, PhD, FBCS
King's College London
United Kingdom


Barbara Endicott-Popovsky, PhD
University of Washington
Washington, USA

Denise Pheils, PhD, CISSP, PMP
Texas A&M
Texas, USA


Nick V. Flor, PhD
University of New Mexico
New Mexico, USA

Pedro Luís Próspero Sanchez, PhD
University of Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo, Brazil


Virginia N.L. Franqueira, PhD    University of Derby, United Kingdom

John Riley, PhD
Bloomsburg University
Pennsylvania, USA


Simson Garfinkel, PhD
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Gaithersburg, MD

Marcus K. Rogers, PhD, CISSP
Purdue University
Indiana, USA




Editorial offices are at the following address:

Association of Digital Forensics, Security and Law
1642 Horsepen Hills Road
Maidens, Virginia 23102

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel# 804-402-9239


Administrative Assistant:

Natalie G. Dardick
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 



The Editor-in-Chief of the JDFSL is Dr. Ibrahim Baggili.  The Editor may be reached via email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Manuscripts should be submitted in Word, RTF, or PDF format using the JDFSL OJS Submission System.


Book Review Submissions

Books may be submitted for review by the JDFSL by sending a copy and a request to the following address:

Diane Barrett
University of Advancing Technology
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.